Season 6 (2025/2026)

Season 6 started as the last few have, with the squad being mad at me for saying we can avoid relegation. Even though we never really looked like being relegated last season. What is wrong with these people? As I mentioned before I need to look at the squad and trim it down to be a bit more usable. But as usual I go crazy and sign anyone who looks like they might be any good. Which might be a good tactic since we are actually getting relegated according to the bookies. Maybe I’m the deluded one for thinking we might be OK this season. Let’s see how it pans out!

Outsiders again. Can we upset the odds?

There was talk of a takeover for the club, which I was thinking might be good for some infrastructure improvements. SInce the current chairman isnt very keen on making anything better. Although we are waiting to move into our new stadium at the end of the season. but no, takeover talks were rubbished. I will work on the board this year to see what we can get. I am doing well so they might cave at some point!

Just a few signings this window.

After signing a boat load of players, we make a good start to the season, as we tend to do. The Toto Cup is the annual curtain raiser to the season. A group stage before a semi-final and final. We topped our group with 3wins from 3. Before an easy semi-final victory. This gave us our first chance at winning some silverware. (Yes we have won a couple of lower leagues but I’m not counting them!) Could we win against the league favourites, Hapoel Ra’anana. A solid victory for our first cup win, and a nice £40K in prize money. A nice start to the season. Although the final was a few games in.

A good Cup Final victory.

I mentioned in an earlier post about the fact that the board wont let us have any scouts. What on earth is that all about. We do have a Chief Scout and another scout, but they are terrible. Chief Scout is 1 for ability and 9 for potential, scout is 4 for ability and 5 for potential. Any attempts to hire anything better is rejected. They are both on amateur contracts so are costing us nothing in wages so that is a bonus. I do seem to be able to sent them anywhere in the world though! Not sure its a bug! I haven’t really been able to take advantage of that though, either no players found, or they don’t want to join.

So just to add to the lack of support, the board then implemented the fact that I could only have 2 coaches. Currently we have 5. All the extra staff I have that aren’t allowed are on amateur contracts and costing nothing so I’m not too bothered about them being here.

Staff allowed. No scouts allowed, and only 2 coaches. Not the structure build for progression.
15 games in and in a solid position.

Halfway through the initial phase and we sit in third place. Not too far away from a promotion spot. If we can get on a good run in the second half of the season I see no reason we can’t get that promotion spot. As you can see we didn’t quite make the promotion spots after the regular season. But with the season split, and another 7 games we are in reach of 2nd, at least.

We make the top half split for the first time.

The last seven games didn’t quite go to plan. Only 2 wins and 4 draws really stalled our promotion hopes. Although we did finish 3rd behind the two league favourites at the start of the season. I think overall it was a very successful season.

Promotion run-in. Only 3 points to make up. And we have both rivals to play.
A bit of a damp squib ending to the season. 7 draws all season, and then 4 in the run-in.
Just falling a few points short this season.

Hopefully we can kick on next season. We are close, a few signings and I think we can make a push for top two. Mohammed Frij was once again the star of the season. League Top Scorer and Highest Average Rating. If we can build a team around him and give him some support, we can go close again.

End of Season Club awards. Frij was the stand out performer.

Leagues Manager of the Year Award. Well done me!

I am rewarded with the leagues Manager of the Year, the first personal award won. Taking a team from rank outsiders to the brink of promotion. Not too bad if I say so myself!

We go into our third season in Liga Leumit in our new stadium. Unfortunately they haven’t named it after me, not yet anyway. Maybe our next move. one thing the board have agreed to is an affiliate. A B League outfit, fourth tier. Hopefully I can send a few players out there for some game time. after signing 20 players this season I will try not to sign as many next season. Selective signings are the key. I say that now, knowing fine well I will end up signing a load next season anyway. We have been able to get some better players in on loan too, so that will help keep the budget down. We still haven’t signed anyone for money yet, there hasn’t been the need. We can get pretty much everyone (who will sign), that we are after, on a free. The board keep giving us a transfer budget, but I tend to move that over to wages and transfer fees aren’t being utilised.

Another season in Liga Leumit isn’t too bad. We are slowly building our bank balance, which hopefully will present the board with less to complain about and grant some of my requests. Improvement in Training Facilities and Youth Recruitment are the key ones I will be looking to get through next season. Our attendances have been slowly growing. This season was just over 500 (in the 3000 stadium we have been using whilst our new one is being built), if we can get a few more in FC Jerusalem Stadium will boost the gate receipts also.

Onwards and upwards is all we can do. Make some good signing, keep the tactics we have (41212 – probably do a review in next seasons post! Maybe!) as it seems to be doing the business, get the board to accept a couple of my request and I think we are doing well. I am enjoying the save so far. I hope you are too.

Leave a comment